the letter z

Posted in Uncategorized by z on 2010-08-11

After the minor apoplexy subsided after reading one response to the previous post elsewhere, I was able to form two observations:

  1. I was angry because one trans person ridiculing another trans person’s expression of anger and frustration at our shared oppression, and implicitly, trans activism, is a pretty shitty thing to do, and
  2. I pity this person if they think that walking to cis people bowl in hands, trembling, asking “Please sir, I want some more”, is a efficient way of getting a proper meal.

That is all that will need to be said regarding the matter, I think.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carolyn Ann said, on 2010-08-11 at 4:45 am

    May the gods be pleased with your efforts.

    Oh, hang on: the gods don’t exist.

    Never mind. πŸ™‚

    By the way: your pity needs a mirror more than it needs my condescension. Let’s see if you leave this comment up. πŸ™‚

  2. z said, on 2010-08-11 at 4:50 am

    Please refer to the comment I made on your blog if you would like any further comment from myself.

  3. Carolyn Ann said, on 2010-08-11 at 5:09 am

    Oh – that piece of erudition? “Fuck you too?” That one?

    You do express yourself so well. πŸ™‚

    You:
    1. Don’t know what the hell you’re writing about (especially when it comes to characterizing me), and
    2. If that’s how you respond to lil’ ol’ moi – what would do you if someone who makes enough money to own several homes, and a private jet, decided to take you on? Someone like, oh, I don’t know: Rush Limbaugh?

    You’d fold like a cheap newspaper in the rain. Judging by your response to me.

    He makes that much money because he understands the power of words. Get that idea into your head: it’s not about how angry you are. It’s about how you use words. And you don’t. You employ them for 50c an hour.

    Toughen up, dear. If you’re going to declare war on anyone – toughen up. Just a friendly, non-confrontational bit of advice. Oh – and start appreciating words and ideas for what they are. Right now, you’re playing with Barbie dolls.

    But above all: toughen up.

  4. Carolyn Ann said, on 2010-08-11 at 5:09 am

    Oh – I forgot: at least you have the courage to take a stand. Unlike some I’ve come across.

    Well done on that – don’t lose that honesty.

  5. Carolyn Ann said, on 2010-08-11 at 5:11 am

    Oh, forget what I just said. You’ve put your blog on moderation.

    That’s what people who don’t want debate do. That’s not exactly what people who declare a virtuous “war” do: Let’s have a war, and stop the other side from participating! That way: we WIN!

    Toughen up. Just some friendly advice.

    • z said, on 2010-08-11 at 5:37 am

      Since I seem to have currently nothing better to do than engage with you, let me respond to these three points you’ve made in turn.

      1. I go by what you’ve written, and to me, your post quite firmly adhered to my characterization of it above. You were the first to use expletives towards me, and I still think that my original response to you encapsulates the response I think your post deserves.

      I don’t seriously find where you get the idea that I’m either fighting with Barbie dolls, or any of the other colorful similes you seem to enjoy using. We are talking about, ultimately, spilt blood and death here, and your characterization makes light of that. Since you also seem to have initially or otherwise misunderstood the entire point of the declaration, I don’t think you’re in any position to make judgments here.

      2. Maybe, instead of initially ridiculing the sentiment, you get some activism done and fight the war.

      3. My blog, my rules; I engage with you on my blog on my terms, I choose to respond to you on my blog on my terms. You also have the same privilege of doing so on your own blog — don’t get upset because I choose to make use of that privilege.

  6. Carolyn Ann said, on 2010-08-11 at 6:17 am

    I’m not upset – I’m enjoying the conversation. πŸ™‚ Seriously – I am!

    Yes, I was the first to use an epithet. So what? You think I’ll be the last? (Perhaps I will be, considering you’re still at 6 comments.)

    I *do* enjoy a colorful simile, don’t you?

    You should try them. They make writing so much more fun than serious anxiety that only leaves your readers wondering if you should take Prozac, or simply go out and wildly and amazingly drunk. To relax.

    Those who stay angry over long periods don’t affect anything except their health. Everyone else simply finds them boring. Oh, their choir might be fascinated, but who won a war simply preaching to the choir? You have to make contact with the enemy in order to defeat him.

    We are talking about feeling like victim. You talk about blood and guts, and I talk about starting and running a business as a transgendered person. You talk about being a victim; I talk about how empowered I feel.

    I didn’t misunderstand anything you wrote. I just disagree with it – passionately disagree with it. Is that a problem for you?

    And if you think that understanding such a declaration is required to comment on it – you’re being a fool. You misunderstand me, but do you see me complaining? Okay, a little. πŸ™‚

    As I told Queen Emily (I think; perhaps it was someone else? I can’t remember, sorry) – what and who I support are my business, and my business alone. If you don’t like that – tough tiddlywinks.

    Your blog, your rules – I’d never argue against that. πŸ™‚

    I don’t care for your blood and death. Considering that you know nothing of my life, and I don’t care to tell you of it – you’ll just have to assume that I have my reasons. (Word to the wise: don’t assume it’s squeamishness, either. It isn’t.) What I will tell you is that if you’re going to declare a war on blood and death, you’ve really got to separate yourself from what you’re fighting for. It’s the first rule of helping others. It’s what I learned, a long time ago, at the Samaritans, and it’s what I learned in my emergency management/response training.

    If you are going to continue this battle, may I suggest some reading? And not the Cliff’s Notes, either! The two books: The Art of War, Sun Tzu, and Clausewitz’s On War. There are plenty of other valuable tomes, but you might want to start with them.

    If you really want to help the transgendered, you have to stop being so sensitive. Like I said: toughen up. That doesn’t mean lose your humanity. It means when someone insults you, you accept it as a badge of honor. It means you examine their arguments, and try to debunk them – not issue a tear-filled, angry “Fuck you too”! That’s not even grammatically correct! (Believe me, if you’re going to take on the likes of Rush Limbaugh, you had better know your language. He’s a powerful man because he does know his language! His words are hateful, misogynistic, discriminatory and insulting – but he has an audience that adores him. Don’t get angry with popular opinion – fight it in its own way.)

    Oh, you might want to read something about how to argue; ad-hominen works for the other side. It doesn’t for you. You might also want to read Simone de Beauvoir’s latest edition of The Second Sex. It might help you rephrase some of your arguments. Just a suggestion!

    And now, I’m off to bed. Not because this isn’t interesting. But because I’m tired and have a busy day on the morrow.

    • z said, on 2010-08-20 at 3:04 pm

      To be frank, most of your comment comes off as awfully condescending and makes some unfounded and ridiculous assumptions about my and others’ tone. I’m not a child. I don’t care for it at all, and it does not behoove me to want to speak to it.

      If you really want to help transgender people, let me say this again: fight the war. Don’t waste your time engaging with me, get out there and defend them. Fight for them. Because — and you may be surprised to hear this — I do this more than you seem to realize, and others do it a lot too, and more people should do it. Because this is about blood and death even though you don’t “care for it”, because our trans siblings are getting killed by cis people and they don’t care either. If you can’t be bothered fighting for us: don’t get in our way. Because we’re not victims: we’re warriors.

      • Z said, on 2010-08-20 at 6:57 pm

        I’m sure that there must be- but how many instances are there of a population like trans people (marginalized, far outnumbered, etc) actually winning a fight for their freedom? I’m sure its not hopeless… it just… well… doesn’t look awesome. Look how long it took mis/assigned-females, and they’ve always been 50% of the population when people weren’t killing babies with labias (labiae?). Times they are a-changing, but they’ve got HECK of a lot of a-changing to go.

        PS May I make the request for “trans siblings” instead of/in addition to “trans brothers and sisters”?

        PPS thank you for linking to my blog. πŸ™‚

        • z said, on 2010-08-21 at 1:55 am

          Mea culpa. Edited.

          We can only fight the battles we are able to; we can’t be expected to do any more than what we can. We just don’t have the resources. But if we can win the battles we can fight — it’ll make a difference.

  7. Z said, on 2010-08-20 at 1:01 pm

    I hate people who do that. Don’t care what group. It’s just aggravating. Sucking up to the privileged group isn’t gonna fix anything- it’s just gonna reassure them that things are fine as they are and nothing needs to change. Doesn’t really help you.

    Also, seriously, CA- patience. It’s a virtue. Just because your comment doesn’t show up or get a reply immediately doesn’t mean it won’t ever.


Leave a Reply

